Musically TMO has grown into new heights. Different influences lay at the basis of the album musically (present-day musical evolutions as well as stuff from the past). Taiu is a crowning achievement as well as a step forward and a new basis from which to depart to new explorations on a musical and a thematical level. The music and the themes sync 100 percent. Taiu is a perfect whole.

Taiu is the third cycle of the Hegira-story commenced with Nezeru Enti Sebauem Neterxertet (OEC) and elaborated in Em Sauf Haa-Heru (HCD 03). Taiu could be seen as the closing chapter of the Hegira-story, this however does not imply that the so-called ‘border-themes’ which have not been fully developed in previous releases will never rise again in one form or the other in newer material. The main thematic trilogy however closes with Taiu, but it is nothing more than that.

Taiu is the ancient Egyptian for “land”, as in the expression ‘Land! Land!’. Mankind has reached its destination and now new decisions have to be made. The perspective from which the songs were created is the dialogue. I have tried to incorporate features of dialogue into the music without falling back on the easy procedure of using sampled voices. There are in fact sampled voices denoting important themes in the album (especially the female voices) in this respect Yasnaďa’s help on this album has been a great stimulans but mainly I have tried to incorporate ‘questions and answers, subversive relations between words and expressions, gestures…’, within the music by means of contrasting and overflowing sounds.

Why? As soon as the expression ‘Land! Land!’ has been uttered it is very likely that conversations which have been held during the trip are being re-evaluated and new discussions about the new land arise. The form of conversation appealed very much, this third album is NOT merely a reflection of conversations, it is much more.

Taiu is a true long play CD. There is no silence between songs to such an extent that one song is an integral part of the next. A dark undercurrent flows throughout the album linking it into a whole. The continuous flow of ideas (cf. James Joyce) was an inspiration for this. The album ends with the idea that man will try to reinstate the same and the old world, whether this is a positive thing I leave to the listener. – Mika Goedrijk, TMO

Musick to Play in the Dark:


1 Ah-Menti 4:05
2 The Penultimate Truth 8:14
3 Vassago De Nunez 6:11
4 The Light That Shines And The Light That Fades 7:02
5 Beatified Spirit 8:35
6 Totemism (Ancient) 5:02
7 Aeon 8:37
8 The Weeping Eye 4:04
9 Either / Or 9:18
10 Perun 1:33
11 Terran 10:15

Artwork: Marie Jirásková
Catalog#: HCD 04
Released: 2000
Status: Deleted